In Between

 

My body searches for an in between,
not winter’s gelid wind or summer’s heat
but where birds dip their wings into the gleam
of liquid sun and air is fresh and sweet.
I long for daylight hours and newborn hearts
where buds break free from safety of the womb;
a place where life begins, where journeys start
and fears abate as flowers begin to bloom,
whose joy is so infectious, so sublime,
their small wounds barely touch them, peace abounds
I long to share the passion of this time
spend hours alone imbibing every sound
where I, at last, feel free to breathe, serene.
My body craves this precious in between.

 

,.

57 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Norma (Through My Eyes)
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 13:05:32

    A magic time of year captured well in your words Christine. Beautifully written and wonderfully expressed πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. lscotthoughts
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 14:52:01

    Your words take us to a beautiful place, Chris, and your sonnet is superb! I have yet to try another one! πŸ™‚ Have a lovely weekend! β™₯ xo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 13, 2015 @ 15:34:56

      Thank you Lauren. Since I joined the writing group sonnets have become a favourite with me. I love the way we can allow them to flow. And when I’ve written one it takes a while for my head to switch from sonnet mode to anything else! 😊❀️ xxx

      Reply

  3. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 15:01:19

    That is beautiful. Like you I watch for the earliest signs of Spring, and love snow drops especially, and you have captured that feeling really well. The last two lines are especially rich in feeling and delicacy. Just the kind of thing I enjoy πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Jane Thorne
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 15:06:57

    Your writing flies to new heights with this sonnet my lovely. Sheer peace and expectation for Spring…<3 Xxxxxxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 13, 2015 @ 15:39:02

      Thank you Jane. Your photo of the snowdrops spurred me on to share this poem! I simply love spring, everything yet to happen, it’s a wonderful season of optimism. ❀️ xxxx

      Reply

  5. leamuse
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 16:33:22

    Ah, to be in Christine’s garden with spring afoot… No doubt you are chomping at the bit. Lovely sonnet and thank you for taking some of the chill out of the day. πŸ™‚ xxx

    Reply

  6. Bennison Books
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 16:36:55

    *makes note for volume 2* πŸ™‚ x

    Reply

  7. katepoet
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 17:03:16

    a poem inspired by yours

    Longings

    My body longs for normalcy,
    Bold Spring to come sweeping in
    sharp, freshening winds to clear out the old,
    blow Fall’s tattered copper leavings,
    scatter them in a clear blue sky.

    My legs remember running,
    twirling in green fields,
    I embraced the maple tree,
    pressed my cheek against the grainy gray bark
    eyes closed, memorized its rough fabric.

    I long for my once strong arms,
    muscles that did not tear and strain,
    to lift, and not be lifted,
    to climb stairs, running up the steps.
    Instead, I wait for you to carry me,
    sit in this wheelchair, bide my time,
    stare at the bright memory of my world.

    Β© Kit Minden

    Reply

  8. Cynthia Jobin
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 18:05:19

    So smooth, so lovely. You’ve definitely been bitten, and now you are smitten! This is a delight of a sonnet, Chris, and I feel privileged to have witnessed your journey to this place. You–and your poem— are definitely all about SPRING!

    Reply

  9. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 20:40:38

    My profile picture has suddenly disappeared! What is WP playing at?!

    Reply

  10. harulawordsthatserve
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 22:29:54

    Beautiful Christine, and so uplifting. I love sonnets, and you write them so well. The music in the rhythm you’ve created is captivating, and the carefully chosen imagery and vocabulary are so effective as evoking a sense of tenderness and aliveness. Stunning. Love and hugs, H xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 14, 2015 @ 12:30:41

      Thank you very much Harula. Since being introduced to sonnets at the writing group I have grown to love them. I think it!s the way we can make the language flow; I always imagine a rippling stream 😊 Love and hugs xxx

      Reply

  11. Polly
    Feb 14, 2015 @ 10:14:42

    Utterly gorgeous, you are a wordsmith Christine πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 14, 2015 @ 12:35:10

      Thank you very much Polly. Coming from you, whose work I truly admire, your comment really encourages me. I think it is the friends I have made on WP who give me the incentive to keep going with my poetry. Three years ago I didn’t think I could write a word of poetry. It’s an exciting journey. 😊

      Reply

  12. Rob McShane
    Feb 14, 2015 @ 13:19:56

    Ah, so beautiful Christine! Can relate but opposite! 33 degrees C here today – feels like 37! Ah, but for the memory of what is to come! πŸ™‚ My body, and mind await!

    Reply

  13. Libby
    Feb 14, 2015 @ 14:52:09

    This is wonderful Christine. You really have mastered the sonnet form.

    Reply

  14. Minuscule Moments
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 04:41:34

    Christine, so beautiful and sweet this poem is. Not long now and you will see, the birds and the bees are getting ready to visit you soon.

    Reply

  15. katepoet
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 05:41:11

    In today’s terrible cold we all long for warmth and an end to this winter wind!! (-6 celcius and the wind sounds like a freight train!)

    Reply

  16. bardessdmdenton
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 08:14:38

    There is so much to love about this poem, Christine – its form, its flow, its beautiful word “play”, its freshness, its belief, its heart (newborn) and soul. Just lovely and so warming as I am still frozen in time across the sea. πŸ™‚ XO ❀

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 15, 2015 @ 09:37:05

      Thank you Diane! I am falling in love with the sonnet I think!

      Keep warm and safe. We had one smattering of snow and that was it. But I won’t speak too soon; sometimes winter decides to grab us in February or March just when we think we’ve got away with it! 😊❀️ Xxx

      Reply

  17. SuzyHazelwood
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 15:01:19

    I echo your craving Christine for spring and summer, it’s always a good feeling to see everything being born all over – like the joy of new babies! πŸ˜€ I find some sonnets a bit too heavy going for me, but this is absolutely beautiful, you have done a brilliant creative job of telling of that longing very elegantly – so enjoyable to read!β™₯

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 15, 2015 @ 15:07:12

      Thank you Suzy. I have to admit that since I joined the writing group a year ago I have fallen in love with the sonnet! I’ve written five now! I just love the way we can make the words flow. 😊 x

      Reply

  18. Jennifer's Journal
    Feb 16, 2015 @ 13:57:57

    This being the time of year when winter starts to wear out its welcome, I know many can relate to your lovely poem. What happened to your avatar? πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 16, 2015 @ 14:05:03

      Thank you very much Jennifer. I have no idea what has happen but a WP blogging friend who works on websites is going to try and sort it for me. I haven’t a clue what’s happened, or how to fix it. it suddenly disappeared! I feel like the Invisible Woman! I’m hopeless with technology so my friend is hoping to sort it tomorrow.

      Reply

  19. Thomas Davis
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 15:56:23

    Christine, you are really getting to be a good sonneteer. One of these days you’ll be giving Nick Moore at Gone Cycling Again a run for his money, and believe me, from me that’s a high compliment. Nick is an absolute master.
    There are a number of things that make this an excellent effort. The first is the rhyming is not made using just a single syllable word. Many people coming to sonnets find it easier to use single syllable words for the rhyme, but one of the problems with that is that the rhyming becomes too rigid and gives the sonnet a sing-songie sound. By breaking the number of syllables up in the rhyming word you combat that tendency.
    The first eight lines are absolutely perfect. It creates the movement of the sonnet that can then be addressed by the volta, or the turn in the sonnet from the first movement toward the end that wraps everything up in a couplet–at least with Shakespearean sonnets. Your volta is not in the usual place, starting with the ninth line. It occurs in the eleventh line which has the same two beginning words as the fifth line, creating an interesting emphasis that has to be noticed if you are into examining a sonnet’s craft. The ninth and tenth lines are an extension of the idea of flowers blooming.
    One of the most interesting aspects of sonnets is where the volta occurs. From the most traditional standpoint the turn, or action, of the poem breaks with the logic of the rhyme, but in more contemporary practice the volta is often moved around in order to give the poem a more complex flow of meaning, interrupting the usual with the different.
    Your meter is good because it is not interrupted by any awkward grammatical constructions. Too often meter is treated as an iron jacket that does not give the English language room to breathe. You avoid that here, and that is really really good.
    What I hope to see next is an Italian sonnet. If you can achieve this mastery of the craft you are ready to stretch your wings. Can you make sure I notice when you post one? For some reason retirement seems to be making me less capable of keeping up with writing, reading, and other things. It’s strange. I am delighted to see your growth as a sonneteer.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 20, 2015 @ 13:52:01

      Tom, your comment is just wonderful and thank you so much for taking the time to write it. You have helped, supported and encouraged me all the way since my very unsure beginnings and that means such a lot to me.

      An Italian sonnet! Now there’s a real challenge. But never say never!

      Thank you again for this lovely detailed comment which is so very much appreciated. I have learned and continue to learn a great deal from you.

      Reply

  20. Wendy L. Macdonald
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 04:36:50

    Christine, your poem brings me to a Divine place–a heavenly place. I love it.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Reply

  21. Betty Hayes Albright
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 21:21:50

    Oh Christine, this beautiful sonnet just sings!! I love it for both the content and imagery (hopeful, uplifting – the longing for that gentle space/time “in between” that spring always delivers) and for the excellent craftsmanship. This has now become my all-time favorite of yours. Love it, love it, love it!!

    Reply

  22. Francina
    Mar 09, 2015 @ 16:31:48

    Beautiful poem, Christine! Love the flow and the feel of spring. Love and hugs from across the creek xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

