Can Anyone Help with a WP Techie Problem?

About a third of the way down my last post  my avatar suddenly disappeared and hasnt been seen since. I  think it may have been kidnapped. All the blogs I comment on are showing me as a pattern which is very nice but I want my photo back!!

A dear blogging friend who is very knowledgeable techi-wise has gone to the ends of the earth to try and sort this but with no success.

Is there anyone out there who has any idea how this can be rectified.

Thanking you all in anticipation

the invisible Woman

 

43 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 17:27:48

    Just checking to see if my photo appears

    Reply

  2. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 17:28:15

    It’s there!

    Reply

  3. leamuse
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 17:45:31

    Dear Christine, being extremely technically challenged, all I can do is keep my fingers crossed and wish you the best. 😉 xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 18, 2015 @ 17:54:59

      It’s so frustrating Lea! its now showing my pic here but I just left a comment on another friends blog and my pic is still missing. Can I send a tester comment to your blog just to see heat happens? xxx

      Reply

  4. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 17:55:39

    Yikes! I’ve gone again!!! Oh I give up! 😄 xxx

    Reply

  5. Cynthia Jobin
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 17:55:42

    Just came over to offer a couple of suggestions/qustions, but I see you have been resurrected…hallelujah! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Cynthia Jobin
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 17:57:47

    Oops…okay. Have you. googled Gravatar?

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 18, 2015 @ 18:01:01

      I haven’t done anything yet. My blogging friend Jane has been trying for me. She logged in to WP as me and has done all sorts including getting rid of all pics except the current one. And where it says “posts I have commented on” apparently I’m there. But now I’m commenting here I’ve gone again!

      Reply

  7. leamuse
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 18:01:00

    Christine you know you can send whatever you like this way. Including Solomon, Tess… 😉 xxx

    Reply

  8. Cynthia Jobin
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 18:05:21

    When I click your photo, your Gravatar profile does come up…..one solution might be to go to Gravatar and post a new photo….WordPress uses Gravatar avatars but wordpress and Gravatar are not exactly synonymous….

    Reply

  9. Cynthia Jobin
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 18:24:23

    There is such a thing as a “rating” on each gravatar which you check as general, restricted, etc. If it got marked restricted” in some way, it could account for the off /on problem. You get to choose that rating on your Gravatar (not WordPress) manage page…..
    You’re not mad, I can tell from your current gravatar….you’re just a cute little doily!

    Reply

  10. Cynthia Jobin
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 18:31:24

    Invisibility does have its advantages….you don’t have to bother combing your hair or using deodorant…..

    Reply

  11. katepoet
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 18:37:23

    My son will be up this evening US time and would be glad to troubleshoot it for/with you. One gal had her newsfeed page posted with dozens of other people’s pics yesterday! I fear mischief is afoot at FB!

    Which antivirus software are you running?

    Reply

  12. Kit Minden
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 18:39:24

    How big was the pic you were using?

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 18, 2015 @ 19:01:10

      Thank you Kit! Im actually shattered with it all now and going to have to leave it till tomorrow. My brain has stopped completely! Thank you for offering to help it’s much appreciated xx

      Reply

  13. elaine patricia
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 11:52:32

    Your photo has appeared on this post

    Reply

  14. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 15:51:35

    Grrr! No photo

    Reply

  15. Wendy L. Macdonald
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 04:41:44

    Hoping & praying your lovely picture comes back. ❤ Hugs.

    Reply

  16. lscotthoughts
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 05:13:26

    I hope you find your photo soon, Chris! Tech issues can be so frustrating! Right now my speakers aren’t working so I can’t listen to videos, etc. Nothing has changed about them so maybe their life has ended. It’s a work in progress. ♥ xoxo

    Reply

  17. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 13:03:05

    Thank you all for your help on this. I have just this minute noticed that just below where we make comments and our login details appear,there was one letter missing at the end of my email address, even though this shows correctly on my profile settings. So I simply saved my settings again and the whole thing has corrected itself!!. I can hardly believe it is something so simple but how on earth the ‘m’ was missed off ‘com’ at the end of my email address sill remains a mystery! Thank you all again. Yay I exist once again! 😊

    Reply

  18. Betty Hayes Albright
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 21:15:12

    Christine, glad you discovered how to correct this, once you noticed the missing “m”. How very strange! Techie problems drive me nuts and I’m often reduced to tears.

    One thing I’ve noticed in the past (with you and other bloggers) is that occasionally the gravatar will show up as a patterned one – and I assumed you/they were logging in from a smart pad or some device other than their usual one. Maybe it doesn’t recognize you in the same way, or it had the settings incorrect. Was that by chance the case, or has this all been from one computer? I’m just curious, in case it ever happens to me – or another blogger.

    Thanks for posting your problem – we all learn from stuff like this! xxoo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 20, 2015 @ 21:30:25

      Hi Betty, Thanks for joining in with this. It’s been very strange! I’ve been using my iPad now instead of the computer for about 18 months and everything has been fine until the other day when this happened! It was only this morning I noticed the missing ‘m’. So I went in and checked my profile and all was correct there so I simply saved my settings again and all is well. Very strange. And I know what you mean about being reduced to tears, it almost had me like that, I felt like I had no control! Coupled with the fact that I am technically challenged!

      Maybe there are some devices, though, that don’t recognise us the same; that is a good point you have raised. I’m just glad this is resolved! Xxx

      Reply

  19. Minuscule Moments
    Feb 23, 2015 @ 10:58:03

    Not good with the tech stuff Christine, hope you got it sorted.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 23, 2015 @ 15:54:24

      Thanks Kath. It’s all sorted. It was simply a WP glitch, but one that was very difficult to spot. Once spotted though, all was fine within a few seconds! Sometimes I despair at WP and other times I think it’s wonderful!😄

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

