Tryst

The sun visits in short spells
early March afternoons.
A cinereal sky weeps;
winter’s gate has opened again
and the earth seems tired of trying.

Apart from a small nut of hope
at the far end of the garden;
a lone wanderer claiming its place.
No grand entrance,
no gentle breeze,
no golden host,
but a quiet, solitary announcement,
an unwavering pale yellow promise of
spring.

50 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane Thorne
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 14:43:48

    The gentle warmth of Spring … your words are as beautiful as your unwavering hope Chris. I love you ❤ xXx

    Reply

  2. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 14:57:14

    Sensitively and beautifully expressed as always, and yes, Spring can seep into our awareness rather than trumpet its arrival, but I love it anyway

    Reply

  3. Ina
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 15:16:25

    Spring! I can really sense it now! 🙂 ❤ xxx

    Reply

  4. Cynthia Jobin
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 15:30:46

    You’ve captured the delicacy and at the same time the insistent toughness of the first hints of spring. Lovely. There’s also a kind of silliness to spring, too, I think. Do you know this one?:

    Spring has sprung, the grass is riz,
    I wonder where the birdie is..?

    The bird is on the wing.
    Now that’s a funny thing…

    I always heard
    The wing was on the bird!

    Reply

  5. Cynthia Jobin
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 16:16:20

    I have no idea, but my favorite rendition is done with a Brooklyn, New York, accent with “boyd” for bird, and “hoyd” for heard. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Climbing Downhill
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 17:20:48

    You have such a gift for describing pictures in words. I think this is one of my favorites.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 24, 2015 @ 17:26:20

      Thank you! I have been trying to write about this lone daffodil for two weeks but nothing! Then yesterday, without warning, this poem appeared. I’m so pleased you like it and also that it’s at the top of your list! I think it is possibly one of my favourites too 😊

      Reply

  7. Polly
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 17:22:58

    So pretty Chris – I’ve just received my copy of your book – will be reading it soonest 🙂 x

    Reply

  8. journeyintopoetry
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 17:28:37

    Thank you Polly! Also thank you for buying the book; I hope you enjoy I! It’s rather a strange feeling putting myself out there on paper! It feels almost too real! Scary
    , 😊

    Reply

  9. mihrank
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 17:41:29

    Reply

  10. Jennifer's Journal
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 17:44:54

    These words are so reassuring, that in spite of our impatience, spring will indeed arrive. Just beautiful.

    Reply

  11. Jackie
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 19:00:16

    So very beautiful! You’ve captured the essence of the season perfectly. xx

    Reply

  12. katepoet
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 19:36:23

    My quick answer –

    A Blush of Hope

    Buds deck the trees in the North country,
    In the Southlands, the buds have been back for weeks,
    My ancient eyes no longer saw Spring’s welcome.
    I did not know it was beckoning to me,
    revealing its promise slipped quietly into Winter.

    I waited through the short, dark days,
    watched the grey clouds and flurries of white flakes
    storm from the sky, signal lingering wintertime.
    I tamped down anticipation, avoided daily disappointment
    remembered platitudes about the necessity of frost.

    Yet, one day the clouds vanished while I slept.
    I woke to blue skies, a freshening breeze,
    warmth that brooked no doubt of Spring’s indelible stamp.

    Still unseen by me, no longer do the trees harbor their buds,
    soft, silky tips deck branches that scent my days,
    a blush of roseate hope kisses my softening cheek.

    Kit Minden ©2015

    Reply

  13. Minuscule Moments
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 02:54:53

    Christine I love how you see the world. Surely the bees will be there soon enough. Enjoy as I start to freeze over here.

    Reply

  14. SuzyHazelwood
    Mar 26, 2015 @ 20:27:13

    How beautiful Christine!♥ One very brave and lonesome daffodil – I love that small nut of hope! And they do seem to do that sometimes, just one, can’t wait!! 😀

    I love the way you have written it without mentioning the name of the flower, but leaving the reader in doubt of what it’s about, and written with such elegance and finesse!♥ You’re poetry goes from strength to strength! 🙂

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 27, 2015 @ 13:00:22

      Thank you Suzy for your lovely encouraging comment. I am sure my writing group on a Friday morning is helping me to develop my writing; at least I hope it is. 😊 There are lots more daffodils now to keep this one company; spring is definitely on its way! 😊

      Reply

  15. bardessdmdenton
    Mar 26, 2015 @ 20:39:50

    Absolutely lovely, Christine! Your words just breezed hopefully through me. There is a tinge of melancholy in it, too … but that is how its light becomes more warming. XO ❤

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 27, 2015 @ 13:02:26

      Thanks so much Diane! I was feeling somewhat dejected as I haven’t been able to write since Poppy’s health scare. So when this one emerged it was such a relief 😊 ❤️ Xxx

      Reply

  16. Francina
    Mar 28, 2015 @ 13:19:52

    Very lovely poem, Christine…those tiny yellow specks remember us that Spring is on the way.. love and hugs ❤ xxx.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 28, 2015 @ 14:08:35

      Thank you Francina! For quite a while we had just one single daffodil in the garden. We have quite a few more now but we need some warmth and sun to bring all the other spring glowers to life 😊❤️ Love and hugs xxx

      Reply

  17. kathryningrid
    Mar 30, 2015 @ 04:01:15

    Tender, yet tenacious. Daffodil, yes. Christine, YES!

    Happy soon-to-be-April, my dearest!
    xoxo,
    Kathryn

    Reply

  18. Léa
    Mar 30, 2015 @ 08:00:52

    Lovely as always Christine and it would be a daffodil! 🙂
    “Behold, my friends, the spring is come; the earth has gladly received the embraces of the sun, and we shall soon see the results of their love.” – Sitting Bull

    Reply

  19. Norma (Through My Eyes)
    Apr 05, 2015 @ 12:39:16

    Beautiful Christine! I’m impatient for winter here as our summer has been a long and gruelling one 🙂

    Reply

  20. Wendell A. Brown
    Apr 05, 2015 @ 21:21:04

    It so very wonderful to see you continually writing your poetry. I still share a lot of poems that I have written over the years and sprinkle new ones in it often. It is also therapy to me to share what was first written for Gods love and my spouse. I know first hand how it is to try and sit long enough to write and reply to those whom we have come to love in this wonderful world. I have not visited you lately but know that remain in my prayers. We are overcomers as we do not give in to the MS! May your Easter be abundantly beautiful and blessed for you and your family! Much love to you always dear sister!!!!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 06, 2015 @ 09:03:45

      Hello Wendell, how absolutely delighted I am to hear from you and with this beautiful comment too. You have made my day brighter because although the sun is shining and the birds are singing gloriously I awoke feeling defeated. I often do. But I know the feeling passes as I have so very much to be grateful for and you have just reminded me of this. Thank you.
      I started following your blog quite a long time ago and then WordPress began to play tricks on me and ‘unfollowed’ me from a few blogs.Im afraid to say I did nothing about it and lost touch with you and some others.
      When you mention MS and the word ‘we’, does that mean you have MS too? I had no idea!
      It’s just so lovely to hear from you. I am popping over to visit you right now.
      I hope you are having a beautiful Easter. Much love to you and your family. 😊

      Reply

  21. harulawordsthatserve
    Apr 14, 2015 @ 09:44:00

    Sorry I’ve gotten a bit behind in my reading. I love this poem Christine, a real journey from almost giving up to the gem of gold in the nut of hope. And so true, isn’t that just how Hope comes – quietly, without fanfare but suddenly you notice it and give it warmth and it grows… 🙂 Blessings, H xxx

    Reply

  22. Cynthia Reyes
    Apr 15, 2015 @ 02:53:13

    I love this poem!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

