Waiting

How I love
this huge, steadfast tree,
witness to much of my miniature life,
how she waves,
gently or fiercely eager, her arms
a sway of possibility and passion.

Although for now she is perfectly still;
she wants to hear the birds sing.
I listen too, as I sit here,
waiting for something, it seems –
a rainbow perhaps,
or answers to impossible questions.
I smile,
and secretly wave back.

50 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Polly
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 09:59:41

    Ah, this is beautiful…I love the secret wave – and especially appreciate the title – wonderful πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Jackie
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 10:12:13

    I love this! It’s like I was there with you. πŸ™‚ xxx

    Reply

  3. LΓ©a
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 10:15:20

    Ah Christine, a secret wave and perhaps a whispered prayer for spring? I’m sending you lots of sunshine and love! Loved the poem! πŸ™‚ xxx

    Reply

  4. Janette Moran
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 10:54:08

    Love this and just perfect description of that tree which when I was little used to be the smaller one in the garden and I still think of it like that but it is huge now ! Xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 07, 2015 @ 11:16:36

      Hi Janette! Thank you for commenting! A lovely surprise. Yes I know, I was looking at its trunk the other day when I was tootling around the garden on my scooter 😊
      And it’s smothered in ivy too. You’re right, it was the smaller tree; strange how we don’t notice them growing until one day… xxx

      Reply

  5. Jane Thorne
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 11:06:46

    Ohhh Chris, I love this and I can ‘see’ the wave…how beautifully you express how we feel in nature and life. ❀ huge hugs Xxxxxxxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 07, 2015 @ 11:18:14

      Thank you Jane! You will see this tree some day soon, I hope 😊❀️ Huge hugs for you too xxxx

      Reply

      • Jane Thorne
        Apr 07, 2015 @ 11:31:11

        Huge, soft hugs back to you. I am sitting under an open skylight window listening to the birds and the traffic! Looking at your April lavender and Cosmos photographs and Jack..with my little friendship heart stuck to my laptop. Know how loved you are Chris and how appreciative I am of your special friendship. ❀ Xxxxxx ❀

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 07, 2015 @ 11:34:52

      Aw what a fab picture! I can see you there! And I, too, am appreciative of our special friendship too. More hugs ❀️ Xx

      Reply

  6. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 12:45:51

    I love this and like me, it seems, you form a sort of friendship with plants with whom you develop a kind of dialogue. I am the same, I cheer on favourite plants and trees during the winter, and watch for the smallest sign of budding and re-growth and now, as glorious Spring unfolds, I rejoice at their reborn glory, and all the birds who come tweeting along to celebrate with them. Lovely poem once again which, you can see, has got me droning on forever, but there you go πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Cynthia Jobin
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 13:43:10

    Lovely, Christine. Have you read Robert Graves’ “The White Goddess”? It’s kind of a slog, but chock full of interesting Celtic tree mythology. The Celtic people held certain trees and woods sacred. The silver maples where I used to live were skinny and supple—could practically bend in half. I loved to watch them dance in the wind, and they definitely returned my waves to them, or so it seemed. What kind of tree is this friend of yours? I’m afraid you’re becoming a pagan, Chris…..

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 07, 2015 @ 14:03:58

      Ha! I can quite happily cope with being a pagan πŸ˜„. It’s a shame but we have no idea what the tree is! It was quite small when we moved in here about a century ago and now it’s huge! And there is ivy creeping all round and up the trunk. It blossoms around May with very tiny white flowers. It’s definitely not a cherry blossom but my knowledge of trees is minimal. I should have included a photo of it. I will email you one very shortly 😊

      Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 07, 2015 @ 14:15:42

      Forgot to say no Cynthia I haven read ‘The White Goddess’ – I will check it out though. xx

      Reply

  8. lscotthoughts
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 14:27:31

    Aww, simply beautiful, Chris, and I love the wave at the end.We are a tree hugging family so this one really resonates. πŸ™‚ Sending hugs and blessings β™₯

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 07, 2015 @ 16:20:37

      Thank you Lauren! The trunk on this tree is so wide now hugging it is a matter of stretching as far as I can and hardly bending arms! I must have spent hours in its company 😊❀️ Xxx

      Reply

  9. Libby
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 18:37:04

    This is so lovely, and peaceful.

    Reply

  10. elaine patricia
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 19:24:10

    Smashing poem . I love trees but not sure I have ever waved at one but sure I will next time one waves at me .

    Reply

  11. Norma (Through My Eyes)
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 12:46:06

    Ah lovely Christine. I love the secret wave and waiting for a rainbow. What a lovely thought πŸ™‚

    Reply

  12. bardessdmdenton
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 14:37:35

    Questions and acceptance, movement and stillness, so often the key, the beauty, the observance and imagination in your poetry, Christine.

    I especially LOVE the juxtaposition of this:
    “this huge, steadfast tree,
    witness to much of my miniature life,”

    Another fine fine poem. XO ❀

    Reply

  13. Minuscule Moments
    Apr 09, 2015 @ 05:53:12

    Christine this is beautiful, I watched my husband open the kitchen blind this very morning and wave to the cows walking by. He hugs trees too. Nature truly inspires you and your poems are such a lovely tribute.

    Reply

  14. Rob McShane
    Apr 09, 2015 @ 15:03:34

    Lovely poem Christine – I also have a special tree friend – well actually two, no three, no….okay, you get it. πŸ™‚ It is interesting how they each have their distinct personalities though – and a smile or a wave (secret or otherwise) is always returned! πŸ™‚
    Oh – for some reason I’m not getting you on my reader! Will unfollow and follow again, see if it fixes it! Your book also has yet to arrive (way overdue now) – am following up with Amazon! The anticipation just builds – it’s very unfair! πŸ™‚
    Hope you are enjoying an awesome day!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 09, 2015 @ 15:53:54

      Hi Rob, and thank you for your lovely comment. WP has been doing his a lot lately, I have been ‘unfollowed’ from a few blogs and been to to check and find Ive missed about three postings! Anyway you’re here now! And it’s good to see you.

      I do hope the book arrives soon! 😊

      Reply

  15. Wendy L. Macdonald
    Apr 12, 2015 @ 20:14:29

    Beautiful, as always, Christine. I’m enjoying your lovely poetry book. Trees speak to me too. They’re gentle giants.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Reply

  16. kathryningrid
    Apr 13, 2015 @ 18:28:30

    Perhaps the mockingbird I got to ‘commune with’ the other day was sitting in *your* communal-spirit tree… (((HUGS))) !
    ❀

    Reply

  17. harulawordsthatserve
    Apr 14, 2015 @ 09:47:06

    I love the things you’re waiting for! A rainbow, or those ‘big’ answers…both of which are beyond our control and disappear almost as soon as they come, which is what makes them so precious. Keep waving πŸ™‚ Hugs, H xxx

    Reply

  18. SuzyHazelwood
    Apr 16, 2015 @ 00:33:26

    I love the idea of a human and a tree communicating, and this is just lovely! πŸ™‚ The wind does make those trees really come alive and some of them make quite a noise in shaking their arms ! πŸ˜€ If only there were answers to impossible questions – but perhaps there are for some questions, and maybe the tree knows. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

