Ad Infinitum

She cannot bear to think the light of life
extinguishes and disappears from view,
so lives her days in self-inflicted strife;
it seems that grief is here before it’s due.
Ad Infinitum, like addiction, steals
contented mind, creates a restless wave,
and layers of herself are cruelly peeled
while every road and path is darkly paved.
Yet how would joy exist if sorrow died?
Would laughter heal the pain of tears once shed?
How would rippling waves bring peace of mind
if raging seas were suddenly struck dead?
She must surrender, let the earth revolve,
Each moment lived, another fear dissolved

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane Thorne
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 14:19:32

    My Darling Girl, you have dug deep and uncovered a jewel within yourself with this piece. The raw pain spoken of, cracks for pure loving light to pour through… I love you <3, always

    Reply

  2. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 14:32:43

    Your poems are growing in stature with every creation. Yours is a hard road to travel, and I wish it was not so, but on that journey you are seeing and observing things with a beautifully delicate eye, and that constant search for the positive in a difficult situation for which we all love you. I am not trite about your difficulties, but the way they are illuminating your reflective imagination is truly amazing. All power to you x

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 18, 2015 @ 09:28:27

      Thank you Peter! One of the positives of this horrible condition that has become evident, is the opening within me of creativity in the form of writing that I had no idea existed. Why it sometimes takes adversity for such things to be, we will probably never know, but I cling onro it for dear life as it is keeping me ‘alive’. I have always been very creative in the forms of sewing and knitting etc so maybe the writing is similar to someone having lost their sight and their hearing seems to compensate by becoming much sharper. Who knows? 😊

      Reply

  3. Rob McShane
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 15:08:10

    Oh! Stunning Chris! Again, you prove your poetry is definitely worth any wait. So real and down-to-earth, yet taking us beyond the veil and touching raw emotions – simultaneously. Simply beautiful! Thank you for sharing!

    Reply

  4. Rob McShane
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 15:14:20

    Reblogged this on The Wayward Warrior and commented:
    I know I should be writing and posting my own poem for NaPoWriMo – but isn’t this just so beautiful?
    A sonnet to make the great masters sigh in their graves!
    Had to share… Enjoy!
    Okay…will be posting mine for today a little later – need to write it first! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Jackie
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 15:15:59

    WOW! I don’t have much more to say than that. Your writing is so amazing. xx ❤

    Reply

  6. cindy knoke
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 15:31:36

    This is just beautifully done~

    Reply

  7. Polly
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 15:57:32

    Wonderfully crafted 🙂

    Reply

  8. Cynthia Jobin
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 16:02:39

    Bravissimo, Chris!

    Reply

  9. Norma (Through My Eyes)
    Apr 18, 2015 @ 03:50:58

    Fantastic poem Christine and I agree with everyone else’s comments. Brilliant!!!!

    Reply

  10. tikarmavodicka
    Apr 18, 2015 @ 07:13:05

    Beautiful Christine!
    Your poem has left me in mind of the wisdom of being a rock in stream, letting the water pass over and around it or being as the willow branch bending with the wind rather than remaining rigid.
    Life is a tricky balancing act between light and dark positive and negative we have to yeild sometimes to the storms so we may survive them as much as we must remember to yield to happiness so we are present to enjoy it when it comes our way.
    That’s the impression I’m left with anyway. 😊
    Thank you for sharing such a beautiful poem and making me think. 😊 It’s been a while and I’m glad yours was the poem I returned to.
    Xoxo
    (((Big hugs)))
    Tikarma.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 18, 2015 @ 09:38:48

      Thank you very much Tikarma and it’s so lovely to see you again! And your impression is pretty much how the poem was written; bending with those branches instead of fighting to keep them stiff and straight. I guess it’s once again about letting go and leaving alone that which we cannot control, and in the meantime living each and every mo entto the full.

      Love and (((big hugs)))
      xxxx

      Reply

  11. Léa
    Apr 18, 2015 @ 09:19:10

    “I broke my heart for every gain
    To taste the sweet, I faced the pain” Whitney Houston – One Moment In Time
    Christine,
    It is those who have tasted the depths of pain and sorrow that can also appreciate the sublime joy that is to be our delight. Yet, one must do so with courage, an open mind and heart which you dear Christine do so with such wit and intelligence. You share your treasured gift with us and we are the richer for it. xxx

    Reply

  12. journeyintopoetry
    Apr 18, 2015 @ 09:20:57

    Thank you Jane; I have tried writing about this before and couldn’t gather the words. Then last week when the writing group met for coffee, one member set a challenge for us all, to write a poem containing a Latin phrase. And this poem poured out as though it had been waiting 😊 Love you ❤️ ️Xxxx

    Reply

  13. elaine patricia
    Apr 18, 2015 @ 10:40:23

    So clever and sad. Left me without words.

    Reply

  14. bardessdmdenton
    Apr 19, 2015 @ 07:21:07

    I read this at 3am in the morning and so in the stillness and (welcome) void and seeming “ad infinitum” of this time, I ‘understood’ it more with feeling than thoughts. It is such an emotionally intelligent poem. And this line in particular – “Yet how would joy exist if sorrow died?” – is such pure truth, and could be a subtitle for “To A Strange Somewhere Fled”, couldn’t it? It so connected and tugged at my heart. You are inspired and inspiring! XO ❤

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:03:46

      Thank you very much Diane. I have been trying to write on this particular subject for ages and no poetry would appear that sat comfortably with me; I couldn’t seem to contain what I was trying to say succinctly. But then out of the blue, after a prompt to write a poem with a Latin phrase in it, a sonnet sprang to mind and from there on it flowed and Im happy with it 😊❤️ Xxx

      Reply

  15. SuzyHazelwood
    Apr 19, 2015 @ 22:47:13

    Beautiful Christine!♥ I agree with the complexities of joy and sorrow, they seem to endlessly linked, and we can be as little ships tossed at sea in among the turmoil and joy. And overcoming fear is the key to that contentment we were talking about. It makes you feel quite strong when you know you have cut a lot of fears down to size. But I often find just when I think I’m winning, I have developed new fears. I guess it’s an on going battle, in which we somehow managed to squeeze some joy out! 😉

    I was just wondering – is this a sonnet? I’m not very familiar with sonnets, some are obvious to me but others – I’m not so sure if they are or not.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:08:45

      Thank you very much Suzy! I know what you mean about conquering fears and then accumulating new ones. I think it’s called life!! 😊

      Yes this is a sonnet, a Shakespearian sonnet with 14 lines ending with a rhyming couplet. There are other forms of sonnet and my next challenge for myself is to write a Petrachan sonnet where the form is a little different. Watch this space – or not!! 😄 x

      Reply

  16. Lily Lau
    Apr 20, 2015 @ 19:01:19

    This is a treasure, you’ve got a talent ❤

    Reply

  17. Minuscule Moments
    Apr 21, 2015 @ 09:29:28

    A beautifully woven masterpiece Christine. You and Lea are at the top of your game.

    Reply

  18. Wendy L. Macdonald
    Apr 21, 2015 @ 20:16:48

    Christine, this is both wise and wonderful. Truly it’s the contrasts in our lives that help us to see and feel deeply.

    Blessings & hugs ~ Wendy

    Reply

  19. kathryningrid
    May 05, 2015 @ 21:13:57

    Infinity really feels present in this piece in a magical, marvelous way, Christine. Time stands still while I’m reading it and contemplating what it means to be a being able to imagine both infinity and finitude as possible, and what that, in turn, means to our longing for ease and leisure when we always hear the clock ticking. In large ways and small, this is at the center of all our lives. You have captured it beautifully.
    xoxo,
    K

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 06, 2015 @ 12:36:01

      Thank you Kathryn! This subject is one that re-visits me often. The trick is, I think, to stop pondering it all and enjoy every minute of every day; really enjoy. And that is also difficult to do! But we can keep smiling; laughing even, and we’re halfway to somewhere near contentment. I think I’m waffling! 😄 xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

