Transformation

A warm summer’s evening,
the kind of day when
bedtime forgets it’s name and
little ones refuse to tell.

You wore a denim shirt
tucked in, but not quite,
to your trendy knee length shorts
like a cool teenager.
You were chasing a balloon
with your big brother.

When did you stop being a baby?

Was it one night last week
while you were sleeping?
A mysterious unfolding,
a sudden beating of wings,
a flying off into the unknown,
into the boundless landscape of
your very own pure and precious ife.

45 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie
    Jul 04, 2015 @ 13:04:43

    I love this poem so much! They grow so fast which is why every moment is precious. πŸ™‚ xo

    Reply

  2. Polly
    Jul 04, 2015 @ 13:21:20

    This is lovely, Chris. You have an enviable knack of describing family relationships πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Cynthia Jobin
    Jul 04, 2015 @ 16:12:43

    You have beautifully captured that most mysterious mystery, Chris.

    Reply

  4. lscotthoughts
    Jul 05, 2015 @ 00:16:55

    How fast they grow and change, Chris, and your description is beautifully written. β™₯

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jul 05, 2015 @ 08:04:55

      Thank you Lauren. This poem is about our littlest one and the baby phase is going too quickly! Ruth of course hasn’t even begun the journey of having children and she has told me it won’t be any time soon! 😊❀️ Xx

      Reply

      • lscotthoughts
        Jul 05, 2015 @ 16:00:03

        Well I guess you’ll just have to be patient with Ruth, right? πŸ™‚ That made me smile. The funny thing is grandchildren are not what we want right now and so far, so good. Steph now needs to find her reality path to be independent and we’re hoping her current b.f. isn’t on it. Enjoy your little ones! β™₯ xo

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jul 05, 2015 @ 16:36:14

      Now you’ve made me smile 😊 ❀️ Xxx

      Reply

  5. Minuscule Moments
    Jul 05, 2015 @ 08:53:15

    Christine I think you are spot on. These children go to bed and do some serious growing overnight. I hope you are on the mend xxx

    Reply

  6. triciabertram
    Jul 05, 2015 @ 22:58:17

    Dear Christine, the beautiful wording in this took my breath away. This sounds silly, nonetheless I’m writing it – this is an incredibly poetic poem. Every stanza speaks a special language, and the whole tells such a precious story. Each time I read it I feel as if I’m there, just off to the side, watching. And it tells such a universal truth that my heart and mind fill with precious memories of my son.

    It’s a gift of a poem. Thank you my precious friend. ❀ xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jul 06, 2015 @ 07:48:55

      Oh Tricia, this is such a heart warming comment. Thank you my lovely friend, for taking time out to visit and comment because I know how difficult it is and how nuch physical and emotional energy it takes. So your comment means all the more to me and is precious.

      I’m so pleased the poem spoke to you in a positive way and you were able to feel warmth from reading it. I love you to pieces. ❀️ Xxx

      Reply

  7. Libby
    Jul 06, 2015 @ 10:10:21

    Beautiful poem about growing up. True poetry. I love the opening stanza.

    Reply

  8. LΓ©a
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 09:50:21

    Christine, this is so very beautiful and truly one of my all time favourites of yours. There is a lump in the throat and the heart flutters… πŸ™‚ xxx

    Reply

  9. LΓ©a
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 09:53:35

    Reblogged this on poetry, photos and musings oh my! and commented:
    If you haven’t visited Christine’s blog, you are missing so much!

    Reply

  10. smzang
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 14:15:17

    “A warm summer’s evening,
    the kind of day when
    bedtime forgets it’s name and
    little ones refuse to tell.”

    I love it!! A big thumbs up!!

    Sarah

    Reply

  11. Wendy L. Macdonald
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 20:10:42

    Christine, how tenderly you write. This reminds me of when my sons were small. They grew so fast, so very fast. ❀
    Blessings & hugs ~ Wendy ❀

    Reply

  12. Francina
    Jul 10, 2015 @ 18:37:32

    Very lovely poem, Christine! Time goes fast and they are grownups before we know indeed. Well captured and very well written!
    love from across the creek xoxo

    Reply

  13. Jane Thorne
    Jul 11, 2015 @ 19:56:12

    Oh my special friend, you have captured childhood observed in a flash so beautifully here. We blink and they are grown…where have our babies gone? I love you, always ❀

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jul 11, 2015 @ 20:07:29

      Thank you Jane, my fabby friend. Solomon was playing with one of the MS Trust balloons at the launch just at the end and he suddenly looked so big and grown up! And so the poem was born! Love you too ❀️ Xxx

      Reply

      • Jane Thorne
        Jul 11, 2015 @ 20:09:53

        It was so special to be there with you all and to watch your little ones playing…so many heart memories from the evening of your book launch. it was a privilege to be there with you all. ❀ xXx

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jul 11, 2015 @ 20:19:23

      I had been looking forward to you coming for so long, picturing it in my mind and it was fabulous, like a dream come true! I love you to pieces ❀️ Xxx

      Reply

  14. beckarooney
    Jul 19, 2015 @ 17:49:02

    Time is so precious when kids are growing up, how can they grow so fast?! A very emotive situation, captured beautifully. Wonderful writing Christine xx

    Reply

  15. Suzy Hazelwood
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 00:49:13

    This is gorgeous Christine! So much sums up that feeling of those little ones that suddenly remind us they no longer are – little. Time moves with alarming swiftness. A friend of mine recently expressed how much she wished she could freeze time – it goes too fast. I agreed and feel that strongly too. I like the way you’ve written this – quite refreshing and unique! πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jul 24, 2015 @ 14:52:47

      Thank you very much Suzy! Freezing time, now that would be good! 😊 Im hoping our youngest daughter may oblige one day but she tells me it will be no time soon!! πŸ˜„ x

      Reply

  16. Thomas Davis
    Jul 25, 2015 @ 22:32:52

    Ah, Grandchildren, may yours bless you for many decades to come, Christine. A gentle, good poem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

