All This

The next few posts on here will be poems from my book Dancing in the Rain.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dancing-Rain-Chris-Moran/dp/1507602103/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1438865224&sr=1-1

A big thank you to all my blogging friends for your ongoing support and encouragement without which I know I wouldn’t still be writing. Special thanks to Diane Denton, author and artist, who not only designed the lovely front cover, but who also encouraged me to approach Bennison Books when I was all set to self publish. Thank you Diane for helping me to reach a dream.

https://bardessdmdenton.wordpress.com

All This

Alone in the house this morning,
except forΒ two catsΒ and a dog
baskingΒ in behind-the-window January sun;
they could be meditating.

Leaf shadows of the eucalyptus
quiver on the wall
like bewildered butterflies
and the patio door is ajar.
A feathered chorus floats into the room,
a melodic liquid song.
The kettle boils.

There is something extraordinary
in these ordinary things
and I am happy;
I have learned to love the music of silence
I feel I could sit here for hours
just watching the measured breathing
of two cats and a dog,
listening to the sound of
hope filling an open window,
and sipping tea
All this,
and then soon, the edge of spring
like the edge of youth,
where everything is about to become,
and nothing is yet past.

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Norma (Through My Eyes)
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 13:19:12

    “…they could be meditating”, love it! I love ordinary things too Christine. I think it grounds me and I’m happy. A wonderful poem πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. glendadoodle
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 13:45:47

    Oh, Chris, loveliest of ladies. Reading this one gets me every time. I feel it in my bones, and am at peace. xxx

    Reply

  3. Cynthia Jobin
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 15:17:37

    I have read this in your book and it’s so nice to read it again this morning, as I sip my morning “tea” (apple cider vinegar, raw honey and hot water) and my two cats and dog lie in the summer sun. We are twins in different seasons, on two sides of the pond. I especially love how everything is about to become and nothing is yet past. My favorite poems are always about the ordinary. Thank you for this one, Chris.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 06, 2015 @ 15:45:22

      Ooh Cynthia your ‘tea’ sounds good. Would you email me the proportions of what to what? I’d like to try it. It sounds refreshing. And better than all the caffeine! Although I do drink decaf tea and coffee to help ward off migraines but Im always up for a new healthy taste.

      Thank you for your comment. Yes, twins we are indeed!
      I am going to email you a photo of something that hopefully will evoke a smile. I was having a clear out the other day and found a certain thing! 😊

      Reply

  4. Rob McShane
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 16:05:20

    I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again – the talent to turn the mundane into the magical, the ordinary into the opulent, the everyday into the extraordinary – it’s so special, beautiful and you do it so well Chris!
    With so many fine examples in your book! It’s a real treat! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. lscotthoughts
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 16:27:44

    A lovely place to be physically and mentally, Chris. The gratefulness for ordinary things is a blessing, I believe. Otherwise we live in a state of restlessness and discontentment. Your words are lovely reading again and again since I have your book in my special poetry section of my living room, the coffee table. πŸ™‚ This poem leaves me sighing at the end…And your words are just as beneficial for your readers as they are for you…hugs β™₯

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 06, 2015 @ 17:33:55

      Thanks very much Lauren. And I totally agree, we are perpetually discontent if we don’t live contentedly with the ‘ordinary’. Thank you for the lovely sentiments in your comment ❀️ Xx

      Reply

  6. roughwighting
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 16:50:40

    There is always something extraordinary in the ordinary, if only we watch and listen. Beautiful poem.

    Reply

  7. Jennifer's Journal
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 17:21:21

    Gentle and beautiful poem. ❀

    Reply

  8. Ina
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 19:49:08

    Love the poem and the book. Keep writing such beauties πŸ™‚ ❀ xxx !

    Reply

  9. Minuscule Moments
    Aug 16, 2015 @ 11:50:55

    Love this one too Chris, can we purchase your book on kindle app? I can’t seem to find it in there.

    Reply

  10. Suzy Hazelwood
    Aug 17, 2015 @ 19:56:42

    “Learned to love the music of silence” I really love that line, and I love your thinking too! It’s so true, the simple things of life are often the greatest and the only things that matter. I’m convinced writing amplifies this way of seeing in the mind too, it makes you look at everything in an entirely different way. It’s the same for artists or photographers, the simple things of life often make the best images or art that everyone admires and connects to. You’ve expressed that feeling perfectly, and so beautiful.

    It’s a sad thought, that many people will never know this, instead, they will be forever searching for something to entertain their bored mind and never seeing what is right before their eyes. How can anyone get bored when there are so many wonders to treasure! πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 18, 2015 @ 09:35:45

      Thanks so much Suzy for this lovely comment. I have always been appreciative of the ‘little’ things in life but never felt them as intensely as I do since experiencing the debilitating effects of my condition. However, I am still human and have days when I rage against the world and see nothing beautiful at all. 😊 x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

