Mirror (Sonnet)

Another poem from my book, ‘Dancing in the Rain’

Bevelled edge of leafy flowers and vines
a keepsake that I hang upon my wall.
This mirror that I see before me shines;
it seems the years were minutes after all.
Sweetest face you are never far from me,
memories like a favourite food each day
and in my heart I know I’ll ever see
the way you always helped me find my way.
And now that time has passed and you are gone
I see a person looking back at me,
she’s older wiser and a little drawn
and though I know it’s me who I can see
you’re looking back and smiling at the grey
and in this glass it’s you I see each day.

40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 15:30:26

    I’m reading your book now, and loving it as I expected. What a voice you have developed over time 🙂

    Reply

  2. Cynthia Jobin
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 16:11:04

    I liked this poem when you first posted it…I like it again in your book…and I like it just as much today!
    (It’s fun to re-post, isn’t it, Chris? One of the things about poetry that I like best is the re-reading factor. Life is so rushed, these days, and everyone wanting and doing more, more, more…but poetry takes time, and care. I’m glad you’re posting these from your book. And I hope you are re-creating in the meantime.)

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 12, 2015 @ 16:19:10

      It is fun Cynthia! I am enjoying revisiting them, remembering when and where I was when the idea floated by and I managed to catch it. 😊 And yes, I am creating the odd new ‘masterpiece’! 😄😄

      Reply

  3. jeanette taylor ford
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 17:14:45

    This a beautiful poem; one of my favourites from your book xxx

    Reply

  4. Rob McShane
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 20:54:22

    Another beaut Chris! So glad to read you’re still writing new ones! 🙂 As Cynthia says, though, it’s so nice to be able to re-read (I feel spoilt having a copy of your book!)

    Reply

  5. judithbarrow1
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 07:30:07

    Love sonnets – and this I really liked!

    Reply

  6. Bennison Books
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 08:49:37

    Love the subtle mystery to be unpicked in this one. One of my favourites too 🙂 x

    Reply

  7. Norma (Through My Eyes)
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 11:45:31

    Lovely sonnet Christine and one I can relate to 🙂

    Reply

  8. glendadoodle
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 20:36:10

    I love this poem as I said when I first heard it. I know that situation makes is more introspective, but you always seem to find a way of looking at things that helps us through. 🙂 XXX

    Reply

  9. lscotthoughts
    Aug 14, 2015 @ 02:42:32

    This is one of my favorites, Chris, but then there are many. 🙂 xoxo

    Reply

  10. elaine patricia
    Aug 14, 2015 @ 18:30:25

    Wow. So beautiful.

    Reply

  11. Minuscule Moments
    Aug 16, 2015 @ 10:43:47

    Its beautiful Chris, you are such a talented soul.

    Reply

  12. sofiakioroglou
    Aug 16, 2015 @ 14:57:11

    Really beautiful!

    Reply

  13. Suzy Hazelwood
    Aug 17, 2015 @ 20:12:19

    Quite elegantly and aptly told Christine! 🙂 Yes, it’s a strange feeling being aware of who we used to be, like our younger self has passed away. And yet not…in some ways. On the inside, both the younger and the older me are living quite happily together! 😀

    Reply

  14. kathryningrid
    Aug 23, 2015 @ 04:29:40

    And the reflected, reflective person in that mirror grows not only mellower and wiser with the years but ever more beautiful as well.
    xo

    Reply

  15. beckarooney
    Aug 23, 2015 @ 15:07:16

    I remember reading this one! It’s as beautiful as the first time I read it, a lovely sonnet 🙂 xx

    Reply

  16. thevelvetsoapbox
    Aug 27, 2015 @ 05:26:46

    Simply beautiful…

    Reply

  17. Wendy L. Macdonald
    Aug 28, 2015 @ 01:26:20

    Christine, I loved this one when I read it in your book, and I love it now. You write sonnets so well.
    Blessings & hugs ~ Wendy

    Reply

  18. Francina
    Sep 17, 2015 @ 13:09:25

    beautiful again, Christine, inside of you there is still you,,,, even the view in the mirror might have changed over the years from when we were younger than today. ..
    love and hugs from across the creek xxx.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

