The Same Song (Sonnet)

I look at you and see a helpless smile;
my pain is yours, we share each piercing wound
that bleeds and weeps and shocks us from denial.
The fear is real and shouts but without sound,
it s volume rising till we can’t be heard.
We feel a shaking of the earth beneath
and while most days we will not be deterred,
emotions are awash with silent grief.
But each day sees us here and still we breathe;
our gratitude for life together soars.
Your painful smile diminishes and we’ve
come through another day with hope for more.
And though life’s tough and sometimes we will rage
We sing our song together from one page

39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ina
    Sep 12, 2015 @ 15:24:36

    Lovely poem about courage {{{ Christine }}} ❀ xxx

    Reply

  2. Cynthia Jobin
    Sep 12, 2015 @ 15:51:23

    Yes…yes…yes! It has the flavor of Elizabeth Barrett Browning and the idiom of today! (She wouldn’t have said “on the same page”, for example, that’s a very current expression…), which is, often, just what we’re striving for when we attempt sonnets in our time. You’re a dyed-in-the-wool sonneteer, now Chris. This is very, very good, and I love it!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 12, 2015 @ 16:01:34

      Thank you Cynthia! I think you know how much your comments of encouragement mean to me.

      I have been finding it quite difficult to write anything since the awful fall back in June; I just seemed to dry up and have nothing to say. Then as the fall itself fell into the background I could see the whole situation more clearly, the seconds, minutes and hours of each day and how I was cared for. This is what prompted the poem. And it just fell onto the page as a sonnet 😊

      Reply

  3. Polly
    Sep 12, 2015 @ 15:56:53

    Both courageous and poignant – lovely write, Chris x

    Reply

  4. lscotthoughts
    Sep 12, 2015 @ 17:23:34

    Another amazing sonnet, Chris, filled with honesty, hope and inspiration. Love it! β™₯ xo

    Reply

  5. sofiakioroglou
    Sep 12, 2015 @ 20:06:12

    Great poem! Hats off to you!

    Reply

  6. tikarmavodicka
    Sep 13, 2015 @ 08:30:32

    Very moving Christine,
    Dignity in the face of adversity, strength through times of challenge, determination through shared experience and grace in the face of loss.
    That’s what your beautiful sonnet speaks to me.
    Wise honesty to take courage from.

    Love and
    (((BIG HUGS)))
    xoxoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 13, 2015 @ 08:47:33

      Hi Tikarma, and thank you for your beautiful comnent which means a lot to me. Lovely to see you and I hope you are both well. and Jackie Bear too of course 😊

      Love and
      (((Big hugs)))
      Christine
      xxx

      Reply

      • tikarmavodicka
        Sep 13, 2015 @ 09:32:38

        Awww, thanks Christine. Jackie Bear is very well and excited that spring has arrived here. πŸ™‚ Jamie is well and I’m coping with a bad bout of chronic fatigue. I can only work for an hour before pain and fatigue send me to rest for an hour. Life is slow but I’m pushing on!
        I hope you have been doing alright have been able to enjoy the last of summer. πŸ™‚
        much love and
        (((BIG HUGS)))
        Tikarma
        xoxoxo

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 13, 2015 @ 09:46:53

      So sorry to hear about the fatigue Tikarma. I can fully empathise. It’s so debilitating, but you are pushing on and doing what you can.

      Ive almost recovered from the bad fall back in June but some days the back pain is quite fierce still, but it’s getting better and the last part of summer has been good. But I usually create a flower photo calendar, have done for the past three years. Unfortunately I haven’t been able to take any photos so no calendar this year which is a shame

      . Sending more big hugs and love xxxx❀️

      Reply

      • tikarmavodicka
        Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:29:06

        Thank you. Yes! What matters is that one pushes on. It doesn’t matter how slow. 😊
        I’m sorry to hear your back still gives you bad pain. I hope a full recovery is not too far away.
        It is a shame to not have your calander this year. Next year! And I’m sure it will be all the better for your time of recuperation.
        (((Big Healing Hugs))) and love xoxo

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:27:08

      Thank you 😊❀️ Xx

      Reply

  7. Rob McShane
    Sep 13, 2015 @ 14:02:20

    Chris – this took my breath away! It’s beautiful! The writing, the meaning, the feeling….
    It has taken me three reads before I can comment – engendered so many emotions!
    So good! Congrats on Cynthia’s comment – so deserved!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 13, 2015 @ 14:33:54

      Thank you Rob. When Cynthia alluded to Elizabeth Barrett Browning I felt very humbled. I think I felt this one so deeply it wasn’t too long before it fell into place. I felt lighter after writing it. I knew you would be able to relate. 😊

      Reply

  8. Wendy L. Macdonald
    Sep 15, 2015 @ 18:41:31

    Christine, this is powerfully poignant—as always. You inspire us to reflect on what we can be thankful for each day, whatever it brings. ❀ I admire your courage, dear friend.
    Blessings & hugs ~ Wendy

    Reply

  9. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    Sep 16, 2015 @ 16:40:19

    This poem moved me and encapsulates your strength of character and desire to make the best of what you have. I know it sucks on many levels, but you have made your approach to your illness a source of inspiration to others, and few people can say that so thoroughly as you πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. Minuscule Moments
    Sep 16, 2015 @ 19:46:11

    I admire your courage and your honest expression here Christine. Live as large as you can, you are an amazing poet, and I think of you often especially when reading your latest book of poems.

    Reply

  11. Francina
    Sep 17, 2015 @ 12:57:49

    Every time when I return to read your poetry, I find you have become a tremendous poet, dear Christine. Beautiful and bittersweet poem which elevates your courage.
    love and hugs from across the creek ❀ xx

    Reply

  12. Libby
    Sep 18, 2015 @ 09:59:40

    Another wonderful sonnet which will speak to everyone who reads it. Great poem.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 18, 2015 @ 10:07:37

      Thank you very much Libby Im beginning to feel very comfortable with the sonnet form, well so far I do. I haven’t tried a Petrachan one yet. I may give it a go sometime. 😊

      Reply

  13. Suzy Hazelwood
    Sep 18, 2015 @ 21:27:56

    Yes, the sharing of pain and silent grief, I know what you mean Christine. And isn’t fear such a strange thing? I often feel it’s loud but oh so quiet. 😐

    Me and my brother had a very interesting conversation with a couple of men who are homeless a few days ago. I couldn’t help thinking how odd it was that we talked of all kinds of problems and laughed about others things of life and never discussed their worst fears, which I’m sure they had many. Suffering, no matter what kind, seems to bury itself just under the surface of the brave smile.

    I love the way you tell of these underlying feelings Christine – and we can relate in our own way, because we all have them to one degree or another. You’re doing well with your sonnets! πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 19, 2015 @ 08:43:57

      Thank you Suzy! And I agree with you about the fears remaining silent beneath the surface. We want to be brave and put on the smile, but sometimes I feel it’s even braver to uncover them and talk about them. It takes some courage as we never know what we will unearth but it’s worth the risk usually. And Im pleased you could extract something from this that you related to because whilst a lot of my poems are born from personal experiences Id like to think they are written with a universal flavour.

      The sonnet is fast becoming my favourite way to write! I love them 😊

      Reply

  14. beckarooney
    Sep 27, 2015 @ 17:08:30

    Another heartfelt and powerful poem, I felt every word. Fear is an extraordinary feeling, where would we be without it. . . beautiful sonnet πŸ™‚ xx

    Reply

  15. Thomas Davis
    Nov 26, 2015 @ 20:05:04

    Your growth as a poet over the last four years has been amazing Christine. You hesitated to write your first sonnet, and now look at you! As sure handed as a master. I know life is tough and not so easy, but you are leaving a record of who you are in life. This is really good.

    Reply

  16. journeyintopoetry
    Nov 26, 2015 @ 20:13:55

    Thank you very much Tom. Your encouragement means so much to me as you know, Im sure, how much I value your feedback.

    I’m having a break from blogging for a while, but I wanted to reply to this very encouraging comment. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

